25 - 28 October 2022


Take a moment. Reflect. Listen. Engage your mind – and your body.

Breathe is a special immersive experience, combining live music, meditative listening and reflection.

In an intimate concert, you’ll be up close to the music-making of Scottish Ensemble, with the experience guided by the performers, and music chosen to provoke a journey of emotions, moods and feelings.

Scottish Ensemble violist Andrew Berridge, who has curated the concert, will be your guide, as the performance travels through intricate and contrasting music written for strings, and asks both performers and audiences to explore how they feel in that magic moment of being in a live concert.

Join us for a focused, intimate, and mindful listening experience, led from the violin by Guest Director Tristan Gurney.

Concert lasts 75 minutes with no interval.

Enjoy a playlist of music from the show below.


  • Gjermund Larsen
  • La Monte Young
    Composition 1960, No.7
  • Nico Muhly
    Diacritical Marks
  • Daniel Kidane
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Finale from String Quartet No. 9
  • Caroline Shaw
    Ritornello 2.sq.2.j.a
  • Donald Grant
  • Tue 25 October 7:30 pm
    Inverness  Eden Court
  • Wed 26 October 7:30 pm
    Glasgow  The Engine Works
  • Thu 27 October 7:30 pm
    Edinburgh  Assembly Rooms
  • Fri 28 October 7:30 pm
    Dundee  Steeple Church


Breathe: Trailer

Get a taste of the Breathe tour with our animated trailer.

Booking Information

Tickets: £14/£16

Tickets will be available on the door in Edinburgh and Dundee.

Children under 16 go free with a paying adult

£8 for Under 30’s, students, disability and unemployment benefit recipients

Free tickets for carers with any paid ticket

SAVE 15% on your tickets by booking more two or more performances in any city. This discount is available online for performances in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Inverness, Perth and Glasgow – for Dundee performances please book by phone or in person to get the discount.

Resources & Downloads

  • Digital Programme

    Breathe | 742.68 KB
To top