Loading Events

What's on

Chamber Notes

The clarinet quintets of Mozart and Brahms, with clarinettist Matthew Hunt

  • This event has passed.

Event Navigation

Book tickets

Tickets will be available to buy in advance online until 6pm on the day of the concert. After this point, there will be tickets available to buy on the door (£14 – £5).

Book online (until 6pm on Fri 12 October)

Clarinet Quintet in A major

Clarinet Quintet in B minor

John Luther Adams
The Wind in High Places [movement 2]

Unleashing the power of chamber music through the quintets of Mozart and Brahms

Mozart and Brahms wrote just one clarinet quintet each, both in the final years of their lives. But it’s their inherent quality and charm, not only their solitary status, which has always made these quintets stand out amongst each composer’s repertoire.

Mozart’s is now not only one of his best-known pieces, but one of the most cherished in the clarinet repertoire, and it’s easy to see why: moments of understated virtuosity bloom from a soft, calm, mellow beauty. Brahms’ quintet – modelled on Mozart’s, as so many of his works are – is similarly autumnal in mood, with waves of contemplative major and melancholic minor moods shifting like sunlight.

Glasgow University Memorial Chapel, University of Glasgow

Fri 12 Oct 2018 at 7:30 pm

Main Building, University of Glasgow, G12 8QQ