Loading Events

What's on

Tabula Rasa

a haunting, poetic production about human resilience, set to the music of Arvo Pärt

Event Navigation

Preview performance

£12 / £10 Standard concession

Book online now / Call 0131 228 1404


 

Conceived and directed by Matthew Lenton
Musical direction by Jonathan Morton

Several people have told me essentially this same story about the still, sad music of Pärt – how it became, for them or for others, a vehicle of solace. One or two such anecdotes seem sentimental; a series of them begins to suggest a slightly uncanny phenomenon.” Alex Ross, New York Times

Two of Scotland’s foremost performing groups present a co-production that sets Arvo Pärt’s spiritual and mesmeric Tabula Rasa in a theatrical context, exploring the recognised role of the piece in the care of patients during their final days.

With musicians forming an integral part of the drama, this visionary production explores the documented role of Pärt’s haunting piece, which has come to be known – and used – as a profound and transcendental piece of music. It is a life-affirming exploration of care, humanity, suffering – and the uplifting power, and endless importance, of art.

Vanishing Point is Scotland’s foremost artist-led independent theatre company, internationally acclaimed for its distinctive, groundbreaking work.


 

Tabula Rasa with Vanishing Point
Full tour listings

Fri 3 Nov      Platform, Glasgow (preview)
Sat 4 Nov     Platform, Glasgow (preview)

Wed 8 Nov    Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh (preview)
Thu 9 Nov     Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Fri 10 Nov     Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Sat 11 Nov    Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

Thu 16 Nov    Eden Court, Inverness

Wed 22 Nov   Tramway, Glasgow
Thu 23 Nov    Tramway, Glasgow
Fri 24 Nov      Tramway, Glasgow

Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

Wed 8 Nov 2017 at 7:30 pm

10 Cambridge St, Edinburgh, EH1 2ED United Kingdom

0131 228 1404

http://www.traverse.co.uk